The Dick Ringler Distinguished Peace Educator Award

The award recognizes someone who has made a notable contribution to teaching or studying one or more of the subjects identified in the Institute’s mission statement (“the roots of conflict at all levels of human experience; national and global security issues; global cooperation, human rights, and international law; environmental responsibility and global sustainability; methods of and context for conflict resolution and reconciliation; and factors necessary for peace, on an interpersonal level as well as on a global scale.”). The award is a certificate. Nominations are accepted only from Executive Council members. The nomination should consist of a letter from the nominator, explaining the grounds for the nomination, and a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae, if possible. Please send the letter and vitae to the WIPCS office by October 1. Current voting members of the Executive Council are not eligible for nomination.

Recipients Include:

Joanne Lipo Zovic, 2021-2022
Geoff Bradshaw, 2020-2021
Janan Najeeb, 2019-2020
Donna Engelmann, 2017-2018
Sr. Joanne Poehlman, 2016-2017
William Skelton, 2015-2016
Marty Farrell, 2014-2015
Rose Daitsman, 2013-2014
Penny Seymoure, 2012-2013
Joe W. Hatcher, Jr., 2011-2012
Terrence J. Rynne, 2010-2011

Sr. Sally Ann Brickner, 2009-2010
Bob Enright, 2008-2009
Rob Ricigliano, 2007-2008
Kent Shifferd, 2006-2007
Dan Di Domizio, 2005-2006
Nancy Burrell, 2004-2005
Guy Wolf, 2003-2004
Michael Duffey, 2001-2002
Abbas Hamdani, 2000-2001
Agate Nesaule, 1998-1999

Charles Rumsey, 1997-1998
Dan Maguire, 1996-1997
Joe Elder, 1994-1995
Edward Tabor Linenthal, 1993-1994
Deborah Buffton, 1992-1993
Paul Boyer, 1991-1992
Ian Harris, 1990-1991

The Student Scholar and the Student Activist Awards

The Student Scholar Award recognizes outstanding scholarship in peace and conflict studies and above-average academic performance. The Student Activist Award recognizes an outstanding contribution to activism related to peace and justice issues by a student or student group, and demonstrated commitment to peace and justice issues through participation in activism either on the home campus or in the larger community. These awards are certificates presented each spring to Wisconsin college or university students, traditionally at the WIPCS student conference.  

Any faculty member from a member institution can nominate a student or group for these awards. Nominations are due January 15. Contact [email protected] for guidelines. 

Recipients Include:

Bethany Kreklow, St. Norbert College, 2023
Catherine Nelson, St. Norbert College, 2023
Yareli Suarez, Cardinal Stritch University, 2023
Student cohort of the Indigeneity Lab, Marquette University, 2022
Sara Kalkhoff, UW-Stevens Point, 2022
Black Student Union 2020 Summer Work Group, Marquette University, 2021
Anastassia Christensen, UW-Milwaukee, 2020
Dreamers Welcome, Cardinal Stritch University, 2020
Monika Ganguly-Kiefner, UW-Milwaukee, 2020
Jada Woodley, UW-Milwaukee, 2020
Becca Andraschko, UW-Stevens Point, 2019
Brinn Anderson, St. Norbert College, 2019
Alejandra Gonzalez, Alverno College, 2019
Sarah Pearson, Alverno College, 2019
Rami Alharbi, Edgewood College, 2018
Peyton Going, St. Norbert College, 2018
Johanna Peterson, UW-Stout, 2018
Yer Xiong, UW-La Crosse, 2018
Mouna Algahaithi, Madison College, 2017
Lauren Kidd, Mount Mary University, 2017
Miguel Sanchez, Marquette University, 2017
Rachel Steiner, Ripon College, 2017
Rohini Singh, UW-Stout, 2016
Candice Block, Mount Mary University, 2014
Christine Sanderson, UW-Stevens Point, 2014
Lakesha Jones, Mount Mary College, 2012
Valerie Landowski, UW-Stevens Point, 2012
Nicole Saleske, Marian University, 2012
Randa Meyer, UW-Stevens Point, 2012

Greg Hartman, UW-Stevens Point, 2011
Yasir Kuoti, UW-Stevens Point, 2011
Nicole Ries, UW-Stout, 2011
Lila Saavedra, Mount Mary College, 2011
Natasha Smet, Mount Mary College, 2011
Michael Wilson, UW-Stevens Point, 2011
Cina Chang, Cardinal Stritch University, 2010
Haley Madson, Ripon College, 2009
Ronald Kabaale, Cardinal Stritch University, 2009
Kimberly Meyer, Cardinal Stritch University, 2009
Todd Dennis, Edgewood College, UW-Madison, 2008
David Foley, Marquette University, 2006
Kyle Bowman, Cardinal Stritch University, 2005
April D’Andrea, St. Norbert College, 2005
Christian Petrauskis, Marquette University, 2004
Lars Gloessner, Cardinal Stritch University, 2004
Sara Bodenberg, Edgewood College, 2003
Sarah Leiser, Edgewood College, 2003
Joyana Jacoby, Marquette University, 2003
Ryan O’Leary, UW-Stevens Point, 2002
Michelle Hays, UW-Milwaukee, 2000
Leah Strobel, UW-Milwaukee, 1999
James Hanke, UW-Eau Claire, 1999
Stephanie Mesheski, UW-Milwaukee, 1997
Brooke Soles, UW-Platteville, 1996
John Graf, Northland College, 1995
Deborah Sniede, UW-Milwaukee, 1994
Dwayne Voegeli, George Washington University, 1993
Christine Schlegel, St. Norbert College, 1992
Lisa Graves, UW-La Crosse, 1991